Nobel Calling. What prizes will be awarded?

Nobel prize (fot.

On Monday, October 2, the Nobel week, called “Nobel Calling”, began. During this time, the Nobel committees announce Nobel laureates in six fields. From October 2-9, winners will be announced each day at approximately 11:45 a.m. CET.

The Nobel Prize is one of the most prestigious awards in the world. Considered by many to be the greatest distinction. Probably because the key criterion for awarding it are the benefits for humanity resulting from the work of the awarded person. The distinction has been awarded since 1901 for outstanding contributions to humanity in science, literature or activities for peace. Initially, it was awarded in five fields, but in the 1960s an additional award was established in economics.

Although the Nobel Prize is not the first of its kind – in the 18th century, the British Royal Society established the Copley Medal for scientists – it is the most prestigious, including: by its record monetary amount. It was established by the last will of its founder – Alfred Nobel, the Swedish industrialist and inventor of dynamite. The Nobel Prizes are awarded by the Swedish and Norwegian Nobel Commissions.

Prize winners learn about their winnings by phone. The week in which the winners are announced is called “Nobel calling”. The name refers to the telephone informing the winners about the verdict just before it is made public. The verdicts are announced every day for a week at approximately 11:45 a.m. Central European Time. So sometimes winners living in a different time zone are woken up in the middle of the night. The award presentations take place on the anniversary of Alfred Nobel’s death on December 10 in Stockholm and Oslo.

These are the fields of science in which the Nobel Prize is awarded each year:

October 2 (Monday) – physiology and medicine,
October 3 (Tuesday) – physics,
October 4 (Wednesday) – chemistry,
October 5 (Thursday) – literature,
October 6 (Friday) – Nobel Peace Prize,
October 9 (Monday) – economic sciences.

READ The legends coach couldn’t stand it. Sharp reaction to the suspension of the former leader

READ The 2008 Beijing Olympic champion has died. A volleyball player fell from the 15th floor